Day 14 – August 14, 2014

Ethan’s day at the middle school yesterday, for 6th Grade Academy, went just fine, and today he and I aren’t getting along at all. His little burst of athleticism? Well, today he decided to take Taffy (our yellow lab/golden mix) for a walk. They made it to almost the end of the block before they (“they,” of course, being Ethan) decided to come home. He felt kind of dizzy, he said. So later this afternoon I asked him if he wanted to go ride his bike for a while. Nah. Too tired. And he’s been wandering around all day in nothing but his underwear. (Just around the house!) Cause for concern? Perhaps. If I didn’t recognize all of these characteristics from the first eleven years of his life. The past week or two, caring about his appearance, his health, and his attitude? That’s been the anomaly. Whew. I was beginning to worry.

The water heater is fine. Some somethingy something was flipped on it. Not a breaker or a fuse. Something else. Anyway, answered prayer there. The flat tire was fixed, and we even had a coupon so it was free. Again…answered prayer. And Kelly’s knee? Well, we got the results from the MRI today, and I’m choosing to see the answers we received as all positives.

It looks like he has gout. (If you know me, you know I have an insane love of the musical 1776, and in my head I can’t stop singing the line, “A farmer, a lawyer, and a sage – a bit gouty in the leg,” which Benjamin Franklin sings as he, alongside Thomas Jefferson and John Adams, waits in the hallway as the Continental Congress reads the first draft of the Declaration of Independence.) Gout is not good, of course, but gout is treatable. With gout, we have some answers and some increased hope. Bologna and hot dogs (among many other things) have to go away, and that’s a bit scary when you are living on a much reduced income and packets of hot dogs cost $0.88, but we’ll figure it out. As I told him, the additional expenses on food won’t be nearly as much as knee surgery, which is where we both feared this was headed.

Some days I have no insight about which or with which to blog. Some days I’m just tired from it all. Today is one of those days.

Thanks for the prayers. Please keep them coming.