Day 365 – July 31, 2015

I had every intention of ending this Year of Blogging Faithfully with a post about a beautiful, breathtaking, life-altering hot air balloon ride. And yet here I am, up before the sun, blogging before I actually find out if the hot air balloon ride will be any of those things.

Why? Well, because if the past year has truly taught me anything, it’s that I have no idea what tomorrow holds. This – blogging before I experience this remarkable thing – seems hugely powerful and symbolic to me. For 365 days, I have made plans, shared those plans with you, and then shared with you the many ways God took my cute little plans and said, “I think we can do better than that. Don’t you?”

Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails. – Proverbs 19:21

I’m in awe. More and more every single day. And that’s not to say that everything is easy. So far from it. Things are really tricky sometimes. Money is still tight. Patience is still something I struggle with. I am still failing in so many ways. I’ve not reached Day 365 in possession of all the answers. If anything, I just have more questions. But I also have more faith. And so much more peace. And I’ve learned that it’s okay to have questions. And sometimes it’s even okay to not have the answers.

One week from today, I will either learn that I’m being offered a publishing contract, or I will learn that the past several months have taught me many things, but resulted in nothing tangible. Then again, there could be another delay. There could be some indecision. They could want me to work on something and resubmit. In other words, I have no earthly clue what is going to happen one week from today.

In a few minutes, I’m going to go fly in a hot air balloon. It’s either going to be the most magnificent moment of my life, or I’m going to vomit from several hundred feet in the air. Then again, I may not be all that impressed. We may not be able to go up because of an equipment glitch. I may cover my eyes the entire time. In other words, I have no earthly clue what is going to happen in a few minutes.

But what about tomorrow? What does tomorrow hold? What am I going to do tomorrow?

I have no earthly clue.

But after a Year of Blogging Faithfully, I can – with 100% certainty – tell you what I will not be doing tomorrow…

One thought on “Day 365 – July 31, 2015

Leave a Reply

