Day 358 – July 24, 2015

The past year or so has seen a complete change in so many areas of my life, but one of the most prominent is in regard to my happiness. To say that I’m happier than I was just doesn’t put it in the right perspective – no matter how true that may be. It’s not just that I’m happier, it’s that I’m more understanding and appreciative of the causes of the happiness.

In the little section of our bedroom which has been designated my office, I’ve created what I call my Happy Wall. On it are photos and drawings and notes which, when I look at them, make me happy. Every member of my family has a photo up there, as well as the friends who I consider family. And yes, there are also photos of Rick Grimes and Matthew Crawley, from the zombie apocalypse and early-1900’s England branches of my family, respectively.

In the past year, I’ve become very aware of who I am. And everyone and everything on the Happy Wall is a huge part of who I am. If nothing were to come from this year apart from that awareness, it would all be worth it.

Leave a Reply

